Pixel Art

Art, Other, Uncategorized

So when I say pixel art, I’m sure I immediately conjour images of mario and other characters from early nintendo games.. Or maybe even minecraft! Which is all well and good, but what I’m gonna show you is a little more interesting.. Be warned – this post might take a turn for the weird and wonderful.

Source: http://fav.me/d49w6j8

Mama Mia! Itsa me! Mario! Source: http://fav.me/d49w6j8

So have you ever heard of Pixel Sorting? Its basically where you run images through a program, and it creates some crazy, glitched up effects. I mean, just have a look at them:

Its weird. I get that okay? But its interesting too. The gifs are most exciting – watching the patterns change.

Now, I’m sure you’re all thinking “This looks so cool! I’d love to create some of my own – I just wish I knew how!” but don’t despair! Web developer/Java instructor/digital artist Ways Spurr-Chen can help you out. He’s made this interesting method for creating these images available to the masses through a website a lot of us know well – Twitter.

With the help of different commands to include in your tweet, @PixelSorter is a twitterbot that will change any image and tweet it back to you as a piece of abstract pixel art. You have a range of preset commands that will create a number of different effects for you, but for those of you feeling adventurous, you can make your own adjustments to it!

I had a go with the Young Arnolfini logo, and this is what I got:

Pretty cool huh? Its dead simple, so have a go! If you do, tweet your images using #YoungArnolfini so we can see!

Thanks
Cai

Leave a Reply

