The streets of Portugal

Installation, Street Art

On my recent trip to Portugal, I was fascinated by the cities there. The buildings all looked so old and ornate, and I couldn’t help but love them! After doing a bit of research, I found out that the style of them was called “Manueline” or Portuguese Late Gothic. What I love about this style is that it seems so detailed, and you can really see how much work goes into it.

Belém Tower in Portugal

Belém Tower in Portugal

One thing that I found really interesting though, was the floor. Yes, the floor. A lot of the streets there are made using little square cobblestones. And means that the floors have these interesting black and white patterns on them! I find it so much more interesting than the grey we often have on our floors.

Take a look:

But as I was finding out about this, I heard about an art installation in Portugal every year. In July, as part of the Ágitagueda art festival, hundreds of umbrellas are hung over promenades in the streets of Águeda. Not only does this offer shade from the summer sun, but it also provides a colourful backdrop to these streets.

Just look:

I just love how colourful it looks!

Thanks for reading,
Cai

Leave a Reply

