Humans of New York

Uncategorized

So there’s this project that I’ve been taking an interest in recently. Its called “Humans of New York” or HONY! The idea was conceived by a New Yorker called Brandon after he left his job in Finance (well, he got fired!). He is trying to create an exhaustive catalogue of New York City’s inhabitants, so has set out to photograph 10,000 New Yorkers. He’s also started to interview the subjects as well as photographing them, and putting quotes or short stories alongside the photos.

It creates really interesting and personal photos that offer you a glimpse into these peoples lives! There isn’t really much more I can say about it – you have to see for yourself:

“Want to hear a great Ringo Starr story?” “Absolutely.” “Once I was walking into the Staples Center, and I look next to me and Ringo Starr is walking right beside me. I’d been working on a project with his son, so to make conversation, I said: ‘I’ve really been enjoying getting to know your son.’ I said it very casually, but he got very reflective and said: ‘Maybe it’s time I got to know him too.’”

“When my husband was dying, I said: ‘Moe, how am I supposed to live without you?’ He told me: ‘Take the love you have for me and spread it around.’”

“I’m homeless, and I’m an alcoholic. But I have a dream.” “What’s that?” “I wanna go fishing.”

“Is this for Fashion Week?” “Nah, I just got out of jail. I’ve been wearing this shit for two weeks.”

The Extrovert and The Introvert

“We’ve been best friends since 1967.”

This man was walking down the sidewalk with a rolled-up canvas strapped to his back. “I like to carry my art around with me,” he explained, “so it will soak up the energy of the city and have a heartbeat on the wall.” “Can I see it?” I asked. “Sure,” he said. “It’s a self-portrait.”

I could go on, but its best if you just check it out yourself:

His Website – humansofnewyork.com
His Facebook – facebook.com/humansofnewyork

Thanks for reading!
Cai

Leave a Reply

