I wish this was..

Art, Installation, Performance

Yesterday I stumbled across this really interesting project that I couldn’t not sharing with you.

Candy Chang is a Taiwanese American artist who is interested in the relationship between public space and personal well being. She creates interactive experiments in public places, and I Wish This Was is a prime example of one of her best.

I Wish This Was was inspired by empty shop units. Candy created fill-in-the-blank stickers as an experiment to see what might happen if we could easily say what we want in these vacant spaces. She then left these stickers in businesses and places around the city for all to access and write their own thoughts and express their own opinions.

The photographs below are some of my favourite responses. They vary tremendously, and I think that is why I have found this project so inspirational and interesting!

The amount of thought different people have put into their answers also fascinates and amuses me, and makes me consider what I’d write if I had the opportunity..

http://candychang.com/i-wish-this-was/

 

B C D E F

Leave a Reply

