Lei Melendres | Architecture doodle

And now for something completely different

Drawing, Inspirational

I enjoy doing art, and I have a very specific way of doing it. Portraits are my “thing”, so I do a lot of them and have done so for one or two years now. But that doesn’t mean that I like to spice things up a bit. I’ve done other things as part of my sixth form, and to try things out. But recently, I’ve been creating something different. A while ago, I made several small “doodles” in some of my more boring classes, and after a discussion with a friend, they think that it would be good to draw them up as proper pieces, and make prints out of them. So these past few days, I’ve been creating a this surreal explosion of patterns and shapes. Which is quite different to simple portraits.

I began to think about how I could create something like this. Firstly, I wanted to find some inspiration for it. I found that there are a couple of other artists that use a similar style, and they create some amazing pieces of work in it! The first artist I found was Lei Melendres (His Facebook pages are here and here). He creates these amazing doodles that are both cute and awe-inspiring! I just love the variety of shapes, patterns and characters he includes! So I was off to a good start!

The next artist I found was Peter Draws (Probably not his last name, but it didn’t say anything else!) (His youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/Palivizumab) His work seems a lot more mature than Lei’s, but its still really interesting! I like how he creates such complex and detailed patterns! As well as creating different themes within his work! So its all really interesting to look at!

I love both of these Illustrators, and they both inspired me for my latest piece! Which is coming along nicely. Its been a lot of fun experimenting in this different style. Its funny how you can start something thinking “this might be interesting” then end up thinking “I actually love creating pieces like this!”. I’ve even began including this sort of style in a portrait I’m doing! So I suppose that the lesson I’ve learnt from trying out a different style is that trying something new can mean that you discover something that you really enjoy!

Leave a Reply

