My Florida Top 5

Uncategorized

On Saturday I’ll be heading over to the USA for the first time and as can be expected I’m really excited!! I plan to use this trip as the basis for my next art project, and will collect footage to use for an outcome. My family and I are doing a road trip around Florida and I thought I’d share with you the 5 things I’m most excited about:

In no particular order

1. The Everglades

Image

An area of swampy wetlands, with amazing wildlife. I think there’s a big alligator population, which is exciting as I’ve never seen them properly. From the pictures it looks pretty spectacular!

2. The Weeki Wachee Mermaids

Image

Oh come on – who doesn’t want to see mermaids!?!

3. Manatee sightings

Image

Otherwise known as sea-cows and once mistaken for mermaids (though they’re a far cry for the Weeki Wachee Mermaids!) We were going to try to swim with the manatees but after a bit of research it all seemed a little forced, so we’ll probably rent canoes and see if we bump into any instead. This means we’re likely to see less of them but seems to be more comfortable for the animals. 

4. Thrift Shopping

Image

My sister has been spamming me with thrift shops in Florida, and with Macklemore’s song being EVERYWHERE at the moment, it’s pretty hard not to be excited about this! As America didn’t have rationing in the war the vintage clothing is supposed to be better over there.

5. SUNSHINE!!

sunshine-state

 

I’m so excited!! Post again to fill you in!

– Grace

Leave a Reply

